Monthly Calendar


AFSM has four committees:

  • Outreach Committee

Please see below to learn more about each committee

German Perdomo
German Perdomo

press to zoom
Carol Collado.jpg
Carol Collado.jpg

press to zoom
Jaime Ayalde.jpg 2013-9-30-0:8:8
Jaime Ayalde.jpg 2013-9-30-0:8:8

press to zoom
German Perdomo
German Perdomo

press to zoom

Publications and Communications Committee

Coordinator & Editor-in-Chief:   Marilyn Rice



Provide a forum for regular communication on important issues to PAHO/WHO AFSM members, their significant others, and our extended network. 

Ensure clear and good quality messages are transmitted on behalf of AFSM in at least English and Spanish.

Offer important information for and generate links among PAHO/AFSM members through the newsletter.

Ensure that the website acts as a tool for communication between old friends and colleagues. It keeps members aware of developments at PAHO Headquarters as well as provides news regarding former staff living in both the USA and in member countries. Issues impacting former staff are highlighted in the News section of our website.

Members may contact AFSM ( if they wish to share information that could be of interest to former staff. Articles and information about recent publications, awards, cultural events, travels, and deaths would all be welcome. The AFSM Board has ultimate responsibility for the selection of articles and information to be included on the website



Produce a newsletter, in English and Spanish, 3-4 times a year that highlights important information for members and includes member contributions

Review, edit, translate and revise AFSM documents before they are published for members and the general public

Manage, update and improve the content and format of the AFSM Website

Members: Rolando Chacon, Gloria Coe, Carol Collado, Enrique Fefer, Johanna Ganon, Antonio Hernández, Sumedha Mona Khanna, Gloria Morales, Stanislaw Orzeszyna, Martha Peláez, Germán Perdomo, Marilyn Rice, Hernán Rosenberg, Hortensia Saginor, Juan Manuel Sotelo, Violeta Mata

AFSM Facebook

Outreach Committee


Coordinator: Hugo Prado

Members:     Catherine Cocco, Jose Ramiro Cruz, Maria Mercedes Rodriguez, Hernan Rosenberg

Health Insurance and Pension Committee


Coordinator:  Carol Collado

Members:      Nancy Berinstein, Carol Burgher, Rolando Chacón, Jerry Hanson, Violeta Mata, Gloria Morales, Haydée Olcese, Garry Presthus, Maria Mercedes Rodriguez, Juan Manuel Sotelo, Jose Luis Zeballos


  • The Health and Pension Committee provides a support link between AFSM members and the PAHO offices of insurance and pension benefits, keeping members informed about potential changes and important information. We act to clarify, request resolution, and serve as facilitator/advocate to help former staff with insurance or pension concerns. The Association represents former staff in the Regional PAHO Director’s Advisory Committee for Health Insurance. Former staff are represented in the governing bodies for health insurance in Geneva by globally elected representatives.

Healthy Ageing Committee


Coordinator: Martha Pelaez 

Members:     Gloria Coe, Yvette Holder, Marlo Libel, Hernan Rosenberg, Juan Manuel Sotelo


  • The Committee will explore how to better support AFSM members to age better, as well as contribute to and support PAHO/WHO programming for the Decade on Healthy Ageing.

Auditor                                                     Webmaster


Fredy Burgos                                                                      Stanislaw Orzeszyna